Extraordinary Acts of Courage - Netflix

Posted on Sun 02 June 2019 in netflix

A visceral look back at the extraordinary and heroic actions of everyday people who find themselves in unusual, intimidating and often perilous circumstances.

Extraordinary Acts of Courage - Netflix

Type: Reality

Languages: English

Status: Ended

Runtime: None minutes

Premier: 2011-07-30

Extraordinary Acts of Courage - British Hero of the Holocaust - Netflix

The British Hero of the Holocaust award is a special national award given by the government of the United Kingdom in recognition of British citizens who assisted in rescuing victims of the Holocaust. On 9 March 2010, it was awarded to 25 individuals posthumously, and to two living people, Sir Nicholas Winton aged 100, and Denis Avey aged 91. The award is a solid silver medallion, and bears the inscription “in the service of humanity” in recognition of “selfless actions” which “preserved life in the face of persecution.”

Extraordinary Acts of Courage - Announcement of a new award - Netflix

On 29 April 2009, as the early day motion reached Parliament, the government announced that a new award would be specially created to recognise these British rescuers. Announced just after Gordon Brown's first visit to the former German Auschwitz-Birkenau concentration camp in modern-day Poland, the Prime Minister said “We will create national awards in Britain for those British citizens who helped so many people, Jewish and other citizens, during the Holocaust period”. The recognition was to take the form of some type of a new national award, outside of the Honours System, after the government ruled out reforming the posthumous honours rules, with the Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government and the Minister for the Cabinet Office going on to discuss the exact form it would take with the Trust, Russell Brown MP and the families of potential recipients.

Extraordinary Acts of Courage - References - Netflix